Life in LADA land

Living Philippians 1:6 with type 1.5 diabetes

Diabetes is a ministry opportunity?

on April 10, 2012

I find it very interesting that the stuff I write about diabetes seems to minister more to people than anything else I write about.  Part of the reason is that there are a lot more PWDs (people with diabetes) among the people I know than I realized, so every time I write about something that is a common experience for diabetics, it hits home to a bunch of people.  But I think another reason might be because one of the things that has happened to me since being diagnosed is that I am more willing and able to admit that I can’t deal with everything like I used to.  That became apparent first with the diabetes itself.  I need a LOT of help to keep this disease under control.  I ask a ton of questions of my doc and diabetic educator, to the point where they are no doubt getting a bit tired of me.  I pore over my favorite blogs, trying to glean what I can from others who share my world of pumping, injecting, counting carbs, bolusing and praying that it all works out to produce a nice line within the desired range on my continuous glucose monitor.  I have been discouraged, exhausted, totally frustrated and insanely happy at different times over the past year and a half, mostly based on how well I have managed to keep my blood sugar in range.  And I don’t hide emotions very well, so the people around me know how I feel, and thus I end up sharing more of how I really feel simply because I can’t hide it.  This vulnerability transfers to my spiritual life as well.  For one thing, I am far quicker to pray for others now, because I know how dependent I am on the prayers of others for me.

Sharing my life more openly has also led to a number of conversations with others dealing with diabetes, or with other trials.  In these situations, I am able to share what the Lord has been teaching me through this disease.  It’s not how I would have chosen to learn, but I’m learning to be thankful for the opportunity to grow in my faith, especially if what I am learning can help someone else.

And for what it’s worth, here’s the nugget I stumbled on today.  I was studying in preparation to lead our next Precept Bible study covering Romans 8.  In a commentary by James Boice, I read that the experience of Christians is that as we mature, we seem to struggle with sin more – but that is not because we are growing weaker, or more sinful, but rather because we become more sensitive to our sin and also more aware of how offensive it is to God.  That’s a good thing!  And strangely enough, there is a parallel here to diabetes.  Today has been a pretty good day, blood sugar wise, with my levels hovering around 100-120 most of the day.  But the problem with working to maintain a steady level like this is that you risk going low if you make even a small mistake in dosing or eating. So the struggle is more intense and you have to keep a pretty close eye on things to avoid going so low that you can’t think straight.  As usual, the apostle Paul said it best: “For we do not want you to be ignorant brothers, of the affliction we experienced in Asia. For we were so utterly burdened beyond our strength that we despaired of life itself.  Indeed, we felt that we had received the sentence of death. But that was to make us rely not on ourselves but on God who raises the dead.” (2 Corinthians 1:8,9). Whether I am trying to walk in a way that honors God everyday, or trying to keep my blood sugar under control, I may feel burdened beyond my own strength, but now that drives me to rely on God – if He has he power to raise the dead, He certainly has the power to help me.  “On Him we have set our hope that He will deliver us again.” (2 Cor. 1:10b) Thanks be to God who I know to be fully reliable and able to help me (and you!) in every situation!

Leave a Reply

