Life in LADA land

Living Philippians 1:6 with type 1.5 diabetes

Breakthrough!

on April 16, 2012

I’ll make a disclaimer right up front on this one – this post has less to do with diabetes and more to do with how we deal with trials as Christians.  Today while I was swimming, I had a breakthrough of sorts.  I was thinking through some of the stuff we have been learning in our study of the book of Romans in our women’s Precept Bible study at church.  Specifically, I was thanking God for how He justified and redeemed me – how He chose me to be His and sent Jesus to pay for my sins on the Cross.  That idea of being chosen just blows me away. I didn’t do anything to deserve it – He just did it.  And then it hit me.  He did indeed choose me for salvation, but it goes even further than that.   So here’s the breakthrough.  I was chosen by Him to glorify Him – in and through my diabetes.  That might not sound earth-shattering to you, but when I realized this today, it totally energized me.  It completely changes my motivation for dealing with this disease. It’s even different than knowing that my purpose in having diabetes is to glorify Him.  I was CHOSEN for this.  By God.  Is that a great motivator or what?  I was no longer swimming just to bring down my blood sugar, or to increase my insulin sensitivity.   I don’t count carbs just so that my I have a good hemoglobin A1C number next month, or eat right just so that my blood sugars don’t spike after meals.  Well, I do, but there’s more to it now.  I can’t guarantee that it will make me more cheerful about dealing with disease all the time.  In fact, I can tell you right now that I won’t always be cheerful, but then, when I’m low or high, I simply feel awful and it’s hard to be cheerful.  This is more than just having an upbeat attitude.  It makes a real difference in how I view the tasks involved in managing my diabetes day to day. Instead of being an onerous duty (which it feels like sometimes), it becomes an opportunity to rely on the resources God has provided to persevere even when the diabetes doesn’t cooperate. I can be satisfied in doing what I need to do, even when the results aren’t all that I hoped they would be. Why? Because I am doing what I was chosen for, in obedience to the God who created me this way and chose me as His own. There is peace in this, peace that surpasses my understanding.

It means that I can handle whatever this disease throws my way – because God will strengthen me and even bring me contentment (Philippians 4:11-13).  I can honestly thank God that He has given me this opportunity to glorify Him.  Really.

2 responses to “Breakthrough!

  1. Pam Dollard says:

    Great insight, Colleen!

Leave a Reply

