Life in LADA land

Living Philippians 1:6 with type 1.5 diabetes

One Thing to Improve

on May 16, 2012

Today’s blog prompt is: What is one thing I could improve about how I deal with LADA?  Oh, if there were only ONE thing!  But one thing I would do better is to stop taking diabetes personally.  My diabetes, or LADA, is not my fault – something went wacky with my immune system and it attacked my pancreas and killed off all my insulin-producing cells. Nothing I could have done about that, so all that’s left is to deal with it.

I also tend to take my blood glucose numbers personally and to feel guilty when they are outside of range.  What I ought to be doing is just looking at the number and dealing with it, as I have mentioned in a previous blog.  The number on my glucose meter is not a value statement, it’s just a number. A number that I can act on, to bring it into the appropriate range. Nothing more than that.

So that’s what I’m working on. And having faith in the God who created my body (including my faulty pancreas) helps a lot with that. I’ve talked about all I’m learning because of this disease.  God is working on me. I read this morning a great quote from Jeremiah Burroughs, one of my favorite Puritan writers. I’ll end with this, because I need to chew on it for a while before I blog about it. As corny as it sounds, I believe this quote, and it gives me great encouragement that God is in every detail of my life, easy or not.

“There is nothing that befalls you but there is a hand of God in it…..When a certain passage of providence befalls me, that is one wheel, and it may be that if this wheel were stopped, a thousand other things might come to be stopped by this….When God has ordered a thing for the present to be thus and thus, how do you know how many things depend upon this thing? God may have some work to do twenty years hence that depends on this passage of providence that falls out this day or this week.”

Happy Blog week!

Leave a Reply

