Life in LADA land

Living Philippians 1:6 with type 1.5 diabetes

What I wish you knew about living with diabetes

on May 16, 2012

Today’s prompt is: “What is one thing you would tell someone that doesn’t have diabetes about living with diabetes?  Let’s do a little advocating and post what we wish people knew about diabetes.  Have more than one thing you wish people knew?  Go ahead and tell us everything.”

This topic is pretty fresh for me, since I have only been diabetic for a year and a half now.  There was a LOT I didn’t know about living with diabetes, especially since I become completely insulin dependent so quickly. I think the main thing I wish people knew is that Type 1 diabetes is not something that you can prevent or get rid of! Nor can I hope to “get off” insulin or lower my need for it by eating certain foods or not eating others.  My beta cells are kaput.  Short of a cure, or an artificial pancreas system in my lifetime, I’m stuck with my pump and Dexcom as the best case scenario for treatment. (Don’t get me wrong – I love my Ping and Dexcom – they best tools for me to keep tight control and I have become quite attached to them (*ahem*).)

Related to this is that I wish people knew how hard we work to control our blood glucose levels.  This is not a disease that requires attention once or twice a day.  It requires almost continuous attention and actions, but all of that has to be secondary to actually living our lives. So I feel as if I live on two parallel tracks. What do I need to do today at work and home to fulfill my responsibilities? And while doing those things, how will I keep my BG around the level I want it to be so that I can be around fully healthy to do those things at work and home for a long, long time?  Not an easy assignment, this type 1 gig.

Finally, it’s not all struggles and frustration. There are moments of triumph, satisfaction, and a lot of learning and personal growth.  That’s the good part! And honestly, I don’t want to minimize this.  It makes the other two things I mentioned much easier to deal with.

One response to “What I wish you knew about living with diabetes

Leave a Reply

