Life in LADA land

Living Philippians 1:6 with type 1.5 diabetes

Road ramblings

on June 19, 2012

It has been a while since I talked about anything related to faith here, so this might be a good chance to do that.  While driving from Valdosta to Miami today, I was listening to one of the Mitford books by Jan Karon. Father Tim was preaching a sermon (and today, it was to me) on 1 Thessalonians 5:18:  In everything, give thanks. He talked about how those four words can change everything about how we live out our Christian faith.  It’s so true.  I have always felt that one of my goals is to be able to be thankful for this disease.  I realize that Paul says we are to be thankful “in” all things.  But I want to go a step further and be thankful not just “in” it, but “for” it. And to some degree, I think I’m getting there.  I have learned so much about living with “a thorn in my flesh”, and God has taught me some significant lessons through it.  So how do I grow in being able to be thankful in all circumstances?  I think first I need to just do it.  Be thankful, I mean.  That should be my first action or reaction to anything that happens.  When I get frustrated at work, give thanks.  When I have a bad blood sugar day, or afternoon, or hour, give thanks.  When traffic is awful, give thanks.  When I forget to take insulin before a meal (yep, did that today), and my BG soars into the stratosphere, give thanks.  When I feel discouraged because I’m tired of managing my life and this disease, give thanks.

Sounds easy, doesn’t it?  Oh how I wish!  But for now, that’s what I’m going to work on.  Giving thanks, in all circumstances.

 

 

Leave a Reply

