Life in LADA land

Living Philippians 1:6 with type 1.5 diabetes

Life goes on

on August 7, 2012

Surprisingly, for the past few days, I have almost forgotten I have diabetes. Almost.  Family transitions and events have overshadowed what I thought was a part of my life that could never take a back seat.  And even more surprisingly, it hasn’t been a disaster to put diabetes in the background. This has made me realize that I have come a long way in a year.  Counting carbs has become easier (though today presented a new challenge –  just how many carbs in a serving of yuca?) and my wonderful Animas Ping helps me dose accurately. I am so thankful it does all the math for me!  And Jiminy (my Dexcom CGM) warns me when I’m going high or low so that I can catch it in time. These past few days though, I have even forgotten about Jiminy and it has been pretty quiet really, with no serious highs or lows to chirp about.  Amazing.  So though my learning curve has seemed really long and slow, there really is a learning curve, and I really am getting better at dealing with this.  It doesn’t seem like a honeymoon anymore, really, more like a settling in for the long haul.

I have to say that this is an encouraging thing.  For a time, I really felt like diabetes ruled my life, setting limits on me and taking up time that I would rather be using for other stuff.  It still takes up a good bit of time, and there are still times when lows or highs knock me off course.  And though I still get discouraged by those extremes that sometimes really flatten me, they happen less often now.  I’m learning new stuff too.  Just a few weeks ago I figured out that those funny looking little pieces that come with my infusion sets are actually  little plugs for the site when I disconnect the pump.  Here in Florida, early one morning when I was trying to test my BG without waking anyone up by turning on lights in the room, I discovered that my meter has a backlight that I never knew about!  I love surprises. (On the other hand, I sure feel dumb that it took me over a year to find it.)

Life moves on even when you have diabetes.  These past 5 days of traveling to Miami to deliver our daughter to her new job and new life have been an emotional time – happiness for her amazing job and the opportunities she has to impact the lives of so many children through music, grief at the thought of only seeing her a few times a year, curiosity about the city she is moving to, confusion trying to navigate this place. Then add in car trouble and meals in all sorts of places and you’ve got a recipe for unpredictable blood sugars.  I was prepared to be all over the map and having to correct things all the time. That’s why it has been such a pleasant surprise to be relatively stable.  Even the car trouble actually had a silver lining, as it gave us an unexpected extra day with Sarah as she rescued us.

I am grateful for small reminders that life goes on, despite my “new normal”. God truly is sovereign and even diabetes cannot thwart His plans for me.  I will continue to settle into this new life, knowing that nothing about it is predictable.  I’m glad to know God is with me every step of the way, showing me the way to live with grace and in His strength. I really can’t imagine dealing with life with type 1.5 any other way.

One response to “Life goes on

  1. colleen says:

    Good for you! Isn’t it nice when the d-stuff doesn’t take over your whole life – just part.
    And then, yes, life goes on.

Leave a Reply

