Life in LADA land

Living Philippians 1:6 with type 1.5 diabetes

Just do it!

on August 22, 2012

The phrase “Just do it!” has been stuck in my mind for the past couple of weeks.  I had a doctor’s appointment recently and got great news of an lower A1C than I had expected, which made me really happy, of course.  But it seems like the Blood Sugar fairy has been hard at work since then, destroying whatever confidence I had in managing my blood glucose.  Specifically, I’ve been spiking quite high after most meals, and then it is tough to get it to come down to normal, often requiring several doses of insulin to rein it in.  I don’t like being high (BGs over 200, and at times, over 250) for hours at a time, which is what has been happening. Several times, this has happened long after dinner, so Jiminy (my Dexcom continuous glucose monitor) wakes me up with an alarm in the middle of the night, informing me that my BG is over 200 and DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT!  When that happens multiple times in one night, it’s pretty frustrating (though it does remind me what it was like to have a new baby, and so gives me empathy for a number of friends).  The only time this hasn’t happened is after breakfast on the days that I swim, but really, I’m not up for a mile in the pool after every meal.

So this new development means that I have to keep on doing what I know I am supposed to do even though I don’t get the results I hope for.  Just do it.  Just keep testing to see where my BG really is to confirm the Dexcom, then just keep dosing until it comes down into range.  Just do it, without investing emotion in that process – no anger, no self-loathing, no equating an in-range BG with self-worth.  Just keep swimming, even when for a time afterwards it feels like you want to lie down and sleep for hours to get rid of that awful low feeling that won’t go away.  Just keep eating wisely, even though the BG readings seem to indicate that you ate an entire box of cookies and a gallon of ice cream, which is what I WISH I had eaten.

Just do it applies to more than just diabetes, of course.  It applies to work.  Just do it, even when you don’t feel like it.  That, fortunately, isn’t a problem for me, since I love my work, both at home and at my job.  It applies to my faith.  Just keep praying. Just keep studying. Just keep obeying.  Just keep loving, God and other people.  Just keep trusting.  The nice thing about being a Christian is that I’m not in this alone. I don’t “just do it” on my own, either in my faith, or in dealing with diabetes. Thank goodness! or rather, Thank God!

So, just do it, whatever “it” is for you.  I’m pulling for you!

Leave a Reply

