Life in LADA land

Living Philippians 1:6 with type 1.5 diabetes

Some days are just like that

on September 16, 2012

It’s Sunday.  I love Sundays.  I love my church and worshiping and learning. I love the people of ECC, the fellowship, seeing the children all over the place.  Today was especially neat since the Cash for Christ kids had a Bake “Donation” to raise money for an orphanage in Kenya – and there were crowds of folks at their tables pouring out the donations.

And I hate Sundays.  My blood sugar is pretty much always wacky on Sundays, completely unpredictable.  And today was AWFUL.   Just when I thought I was getting good at dealing with the changes brought about by my new exercise routine (more on that in another post), today just slammed me.  Soared to way over 200 before Sunday School and stuck there for about an hour. Then it came plummeting down from 225 to less than 100 in just about an hour.  I didn’t do anything to prompt this – the insulin just waited to kick in all at once.  The sticky high had already left me feeling kind of nauseous and foggy, then the downward plunge just made it all worse.  I honestly don’t remember much about the worship service.  I think the sermon was really good, and it was fun to hear Jeffrey playing violin (I could actually hear it today!).  I just wanted to go home and get into bed and wait for it all to even out.

It has indeed evened out, finally and I feel human again. Good thing, because tonight is a Fall Fellowship and the Pinewood Derby and I’m on duty.  I know my energy level is going to suffer from today’s fun little episode, so I’m going to have to pace myself.

But life doesn’t wait for me to pace myself, and I really hate the fact that there are days like this.  This is when I just have to rely on the strength of Christ in very real ways.  My desire to honor Him in my work and relationships trumps my desire to wallow in self pity.  I certainly do feel better right now than I did 5-6 hours ago, so I will rejoice in that.  Tomorrow’s another day.

One response to “Some days are just like that

  1. Jodee says:

    Our sermon today, about how we are to “Live the GOSPEL” talked about our goal as always needing to be to honor Christ……it’s amazing how many opportunities we have each day to learn that better and better!

Leave a Reply

