Life in LADA land

Living Philippians 1:6 with type 1.5 diabetes

Memories

on October 2, 2012

It’s getting hard for me to remember life before diabetes.  That’s a bit strange, since I have only had LADA for 21 months.  That’s how all consuming diabetes is, I guess.   I miss being able to eat without counting carbs, checking my blood glucose and dosing with insulin. I long for the days when I could eat a bowl of ice cream – heck, even a single M&M – without really thinking about it.  I don’t really remember what it was like to have a reliable level of energy, uninterrupted by highs or lows.  I’ve forgotten what it’s like to carry a small, lightweight purse, without a couple pounds of  testing supplies and snacks.  I now think normal is having two different pieces of technology attached to me (literally) at all times. I don’t remember being able to look at clothes and not having to figure out how they will look with a pump and a CGM under them.  I don’t remember how scared I was to give myself my first shot, or insert my first infusion site or CGM sensor.  It’s just routine now. That’s just weird.

On the other hand, some things have changed for the better. Really? Yes, really.  I’ve posted things like this before, but humor me.  I need to remind myself of these things and hopefully encourage others to do the same kind of exercise, in order to understand that life is not all about diabetes or whatever you might be dealing with on a daily basis.

I weigh less than I have in a very long time.  I am now swimming and working out with weights 6 days a week (most weeks).  My cholesterol numbers are stellar.  My blood pressure is lower and I am on less medicine for it than before diabetes.  I have new friends.  Really good new friends.  I am able to empathize with others who struggle with chronic illnesses much better than before.  In general, I am able to empathize better with those who struggle in other ways too.  I am blogging, and have “met” people in the DOC (diabetes online community) that have inspired and encouraged me.  I have been challenged to remember and re-learn a lot of the nutritional science and physiology that I learned in college and grad school in order to understand this disease that I have and to problem solve.  It has made me appreciate all that time spent in college and graduate school studying and doing research and problem solving.  I am grateful that that training makes it possible for me to understand the scientific side of diabetes as well as the practical side. I hope to begin volunteering in ways that will use that knowledge to help others deal with diabetes.

I am more conscious of what I eat (there’s a good side to this too!) and I am guessing my diet is healthier than BD (figure it out). I really appreciate the occasional treat much more than ever.  Some foods are truly bolus worthy* (Graeter’s, for example). I have been drawn to develop my skills in counseling, because I have received such good counsel and found out how incredibly helpful it is.  I get big packages of stuff in the mail every month of so (well, it’s just pump supplies, but it’s a package, right?).

OK, that’s about all I can think of for now.  But there are indeed some good things in my life because of diabetes.  Maybe if I just keep saying that over and over, I’ll really believe it…….

 

*bolus worthy just means that a food is worth figuring out the amount of insulin it will take to eat it and than giving yourself that dose (“bolus”) for it.  It’s actually easier with a pump than if you have to give yourself a shot everytime you eat.   That’s why I have a pump – shots are a drag.

One response to “Memories

  1. Colleen says:

    Yup, the purse issue is annoying.

Leave a Reply

