Life in LADA land

Living Philippians 1:6 with type 1.5 diabetes

A Non-diabetes post

on October 7, 2012

I read a blog post by one of my favorite D-bloggers this week (www.sixuntilme.com) and  she had been challenged to write a post that has nothing to do with diabetes, which she did.  OK, challenge accepted.

Life is good right now.  I thought I would be really mourning and missing my daughter who has moved to Miami (the one in Florida, not the one just up the road from us in Oxford, OH), but while I certainly miss her, I am so happy for the job and the church and the life she has found for herself there that it is much easier to deal with her absence than I expected it to be.  I love my job and the people I work with in the office and the families and children I get to be with and try to encourage and support.  My son is having a terrific senior year and we are enjoying all of his accomplishments and the young man that he is.  I am trying to suck the last bit of life from all of things that he does that we get to share in this last year of high school.

I have good friends that I make it a priority to spend time with.  I am learning that these friendships are important to nurture or they will shrivel up due to lack of attention. I find myself looking ahead to next year, when a number of activities will drop off of my calendar because they are things we do with Jeffrey and associated with his activities at school and in the community. I used to think I would be really sad about that, and while I will miss some of those things, I am eager to see what God has for me in the future. It’s fun to think about trying some things I haven’t had time for.

I am thoroughly enjoying getting to really study the Scriptures this year with a new freshness that is exciting and challenging.  I suppose this is tied to the Biblical Counseling training that a bunch of us from church have been doing, but whatever the cause it is energizing.  I can’t wait to see where it leads.  I am also reading other good books and finding a new pleasure in reading.  I have taken time to journal and chew on some books, especially those relating to my, uh, health issue (since I can’t mention the D-word), and that has proven to be helpful and encouraging.

I find myself much more inclined to want to spend time finding out how people are really doing – not just chit-chat, but really find out if they are content, or restless, or struggling, or happy. That is showing up in my ministry life, and has affected one of my goals for my job this year. It is also showing up just in general and I hope will help make me a more sympathetic, compassionate listener.

I can honestly say I love my life.  I know it is a gift from God and for that I am grateful. I also know that it won’t always be roses and butterflies. There are some tough things, for sure. My Mom’s health is not stable.  My Dad’s memory is definitely not stable.  My own struggles with, uh, the D-thing, make my life somewhat unpredictable. But for now, I am in a very good place.  Thanks be to God for His grace and favor!

Leave a Reply

