Life in LADA land

Living Philippians 1:6 with type 1.5 diabetes

Landmines!

on October 23, 2012

Chinese food (with General Tso’s chicken taking special mention).

Pizza.

Chipotle spice wings from an un-named wings restaurant.

Barbeque sauce.

Sweet tea (given to me by mistake at a fast food restaurant, and from which I took a big swig before realizing what it was).

Chai Latte (even the sugar free kind).

White rice.

Potato chips.
These are the landmines of diabetes. At least the ones I have identified so far.  I’m sure there are more that other diabetics can add to this list (and feel free to do so in the comments!).  These are foods that have caught me unawares – with  huge increases in blood sugar that I didn’t expect.  The sweet tea might actually not fit, since I realized immediately that it was a mistake – but I have heard of other diabetics who were given regular soft drinks instead of diet and they didn’t realize it until their blood glucose meter reported it to them.  The biggest surprise in this list is also the most recent – the wings. I have had buffalo wings frequently in the past year or so with no problem – in fact, they have become a favorite of mine since they basically have zero carbs and are really yummy.  So I had no idea the chipotle wings wouldn’t be the same. There must be a strong dose of sugar in the rub that they use. They were certainly delicious – which explains why I ate so darn many of them the first time.  And then spent basically the whole night with my blood glucose above 300.  Not fun.  So of course I ate some of the leftovers a couple of days later, not realizing it had been those wings the first time – and I finally got the message. (A saying comes to mind…..”Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me” or something like that.) So now the rest of the leftovers sit in my refrigerator, mocking me for my gullibility.

Dealing with these landmines means that I need patience (it takes a really long time for blood sugar to get back down to normal after these landmines explode), will power (it takes a lot of will power not to indulge in some of these things), and perseverance.  And vigilance to avoid the other landmines that I’m sure are out there…….  These are not things I have in abundance.  Doesn’t God have a wonderful sense of humor?

2 responses to “Landmines!

  1. Pam Dollard says:

    So is it that glycemic index thing? It would be tough to forgo potato chips entirely!

    • Colleen says:

      I think it must be. Potato chips are like candy to my blood sugar, and frankly, I’d rather eat the candy. Any potatoes can be unpredictable, but chips are the worst…corn chips are friendlier however. That’s the good news!

Leave a Reply

