Life in LADA land

Living Philippians 1:6 with type 1.5 diabetes

Love/hate

on November 18, 2012

Friday afternoon I got a steroid shot in my right hand for carpal tunnel syndrome.  I have to say, it has made a wonderful change in the symptoms I usually experience at night!  No more numb, tingling hands and arms that used to wake me up.  Surprisingly, though the shot was only in my right hand, it is relieving the symptoms in my left hand and arm as well. And an unexpected bonus – I feel like Superwoman!  I had a whole lot of work to do around the house this weekend to get ready for Thanksgiving, and yesterday I was unstoppable!  Even today I still feel like I could take on the world.

But, there’s another side to this story (isn’t there always?).  Steroids and diabetes are not good friends.  Steroids cause blood glucose to go up, through a couple of mechanisms – by stimulating the release of glucose from the liver and by decreasing sensitivity to glucose in tissues that use glucose, so that the glucose stays in the blood longer.  Steroids can send BG up into the 300 range or higher, something I really do NOT want to happen, as I feel really horrible when it’s even in the 200s for  a few hours.  And I really love this Superwoman syndrome, so I don’t want to spoil it with super-high BG!  So, my wise and patient diabetic educator warned me about this and advised me to raise my basal insulin rates by 25% to start, and to go up from there until things get back to some semblance of normal.  I started at +25% and found pretty soon that it takes an increase of at least 50% to keep my BG in range.  And this morning in church (because of course, the dreaded  Sunday Spike still plagues me) I turned it up to +80%.  Gradually today, I have lowered it back down to +50% and things seem pretty stable.  This weekend has been easy, since I have not had a real busy schedule.  Tomorrow will be interesting – swimming in the morning, then a busy work day after that.  I’m trying to figure out how to plan for all of that so that I don’t spend the day in a fog from either low or high BG.

I’ll say one thing for being diabetic. Life is never boring!

One response to “Love/hate

  1. Gmail says:

    You are so correct-never boring!!!

    Jane

Leave a Reply

