Life in LADA land

Living Philippians 1:6 with type 1.5 diabetes

Alone

on December 21, 2012

Several times in the past couple of weeks I have found myself swimming alone at Twin Towers.  Now  you would think that is a good thing, and for the most part, it is!  But I also find that it is actually a bit of a struggle to swim well when I’m the only one in the pool.  I need another person in the water to “push” me along, to keep me working at a pace that is harder than comfortable.  It doesn’t even have to be someone who swims faster than me (rare, when you swim at a retirement center’s fitness center!), just another person moving along in the lane next to me, or working out in the open area of the pool, or on the hydro-treadmill (yes, really, it’s a treadmill IN the water!). It takes a lot of motivation to work at more than a moderate level when I am  swimming alone, especially at the beginning of the workout.

And of course, this principle applies beyond swimming.  I would not be doing as well as I am at managing my diabetes without a lot of people pitching in and pushing me.  Family, friends, the greatest medical team around (thanks Betty and Dr. Hazen!), blogs, magazines – all of these things serve to push me to take care of myself and work through the lows, highs, inexplicable problems with infusion sites and Dexcom sensors, and just the everyday load of thinking like a pancreas.  Friends who ask how I am doing and really mean it – this is a powerful encouragement to me.  It might seem like I am blowing you off when you ask and I give a short answer, but just the fact that you ask is important to me.  I don’t want to bore you with the details.  Each day truly is a new experience, and I never know how it’s going to play out, if it’s going to be a lovely boring day with steady BGs and no huge spikes after meals or snacks, or if it’s going to be a day where the Alps are outlined on my Dexcom screen, so usually I give anyone who asks the shortest answer I can and still be honest.

This goes for life as a Christian too.  Though being alone to pray, and read Scripture and listen to the Lord are necessary to my growth as a believer, there truly are no Lone Ranger Christians.  We need each other, even when we don’t agree on everything.  I love my church, and the people in it.  They push me to know Scripture better, to live it out more fully, and they polish off the sharp edges when I need it.  I learn from the parents in my ministry, as they work diligently (but very humanly) to raise their children as faithful Jesus followers in a world often hostile to their choices. I learn from our Pastor, Elders, Trustees, Deacons as they teach us and lead us by example.   And the children I serve delight me, encourage me, and show me what it means to love Jesus every time I am with them.

So, alone is good.  Sometimes.  But I need y’all.  And that makes me very happy.

Leave a Reply

