Life in LADA land

Living Philippians 1:6 with type 1.5 diabetes

Hope

on January 1, 2013

Shortly after my last blog posting, I found the e-newsletter put out by JDRF called Countdown. What a goldmine of interesting stuff!  I read an article of questions and answers about the day to day life of type 1s, both children and those of us diagnosed as adults. That may not seem like much, but it is so unusual to find anything written about type 1.5s (though they didn’t call it that, just adults with type 1), that any time I find it, I get pretty excited. It’s nice to be validated.  The other articles in the newsletter held my attention equally but that wasn’t the end of it.  I also re-discovered the website TypeOneNation which used to be called Juvenation.  Another wealth of information, especially about current research.  I read about encapsulated islet cell transplants, which is just so cool to think about.  Makes me almost miss being in a research lab.  There’s also a discussion group of people diagnosed as adults.  That about knocked me over.  I’m not alone!  It’s nice to see it in black and white, though I guess I knew I wasn’t some isolated case.

So it was a great  way to start the new year. Seeing the research that is being done, creatively and diligently, to bring an end to diabetes.  Finding a larger community of type 1.5s out there who share the same struggles I do.  These things bring me hope.  This year I’m going to look for hope, not just in dealing with diabetes, but in dealing with any aspect of life that presents challenges.  I’m sure there will be plenty of those in 2013.  Fortunately I know the source of hope, and I don’t have to dig down and find it in myself. Romans 15:13 may well become my foundation this year.  I guess I know what verse I’ll be memorizing this week…….

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope.”

Leave a Reply

