Life in LADA land

Living Philippians 1:6 with type 1.5 diabetes

Superwoman!

on January 18, 2013

Today was amazing.  It was one of those rare days when I could forget I was diabetic.  My blood sugar was great all day, I headed off a couple of lows before they got out of hand and I had SO much energy it was crazy.  So this is what it’s like to not have diabetes? Wow, sign me up!

Why is this kind of day so rare?  I didn’t do anything particularly different.  I used the same pump settings I use every other time I swim, ate basically the same kind of foods I always eat, and just generally went about my day like any other day.  It was about noon when I realized how different I felt. I wasn’t wiped out after running numerous errands.  I wasn’t starving or hopelessly low despite a late lunch.  Nothing I ate today spiked my BG to an unexpectedly high level.  You might not realize how wonderful this is, but for me it was extraordinary.

And I am grateful.  If there is one thing diabetes has done for me it is that I am so much more thankful for little things like days when I feel like Superwoman.  I think I used to feel like this a lot. I say this because it used to be that people at work would tell me that I needed to slow down or I would burn myself out.  It’s different now – it might be that they tell me I need to slow down because I am dragging from a sticky high or a sudden low.  It’s probably a good thing I wasn’t at work today. I probably would have planned a half dozen new programs that I’d never be able to keep up with later!

So I will enjoy this day for what it is. And I will pray for more days like it.  But I won’t expect them.  Perhaps that’s the key to walking faithfully with the Lord too.  Take one step at a time, as He shows me how to go.  Look ahead, but don’t try to anticipate what God is going to do. And be thankful for what He is doing now.

Leave a Reply

