Life in LADA land

Living Philippians 1:6 with type 1.5 diabetes

I’ve got questions

on January 27, 2013

If I could confront diabetes as an entity that could answer questions, I’ve got a list of things to ask. I’m guessing anyone who has had diabetes longer than me (and that includes a lot of people) would have even more (and you are invited to add to the list via comments!).  It’s kind of like thinking about the questions we want to ask God when we get to heaven. However, I have a feeling all my questions will evaporate when I get to heaven.  That’s not so true of my questions about diabetes.

  • When will we get a cure?
  • What made my pancreas fail in the first place? There I was, minding my own business and all of a sudden, some screaming antibodies just up and attacked my beta cells.  Why?
  • Why is it that I can do the exact same thing two days in a row and get completely different results?
  • What’s up with Sundays?  Why can’t I control my blood glucose on Sunday?  You got something against church?
  • Why does my blood glucose go higher and higher when I stand around for long periods of time, like at museums or parties?  (It doesn’t come down until I sit down – no amount of insulin will bring it completely back to normal as long as I’m still standing around.)
  • Why can’t we get the Animas Vibe sooner here in the US?  I’m ready for an all-in-one pump/CGM that works!
  • Why, when I’m trying so incredibly hard to do things right, can’t you cooperate and just let my blood glucose be steady all the time?
  • How is it possible that 19 years ago when we picked our doctor and medical practice out of list of providers covered by our insurance, it turns out to be the absolute BEST place I could be for this disease?  (I know the answer to this one: God’s incredible providence!)
  • Why is it that all the foods that make my blood sugar go whacko have to taste so good?  I’d be fine if it were brussel sprouts or tofu that sent my BG high!
  • Why do some kinds of exercise make my BG go up and others make it go down?  OK, I know part of the answer to this one, but really, couldn’t this be simpler?
  • Why is it that some nights, my G4 buzzes me all night long with low alarms, and the next night (going to bed at the same BG) I sit tight at 120 all night?  OK, again, I know the answer to this partially, having to do with what I ate and how I exercised that day, but really? Does it all have to be so COMPLICATED?

OK, that’s enough for now.  Please feel free to add to the list, or to answer any that you can!  I feel better already!

One response to “I’ve got questions

  1. Colleen says:

    Good questions! Let me know when you get some answers…

Leave a Reply

