Life in LADA land

Living Philippians 1:6 with type 1.5 diabetes

A pump with a conscience?

on March 3, 2013

I’m becoming convinced that my Animas Ping insulin pump has a conscience.  It seems like everytime I “cheat” as a diabetic (that means eating something I feel guilty about, since really, nothing is off limits with an insulin pump…..but not everything is a good idea…..) something about the delivery of insulin from the pump into my body malfunctions. Last night is the perfect example.  I brought home some leftover chocolate Texas sheet cake from a fundraising dinner at school on Friday night.  Now, since I had made this cake and really do LOVE Texas sheet cake, I gave in to my craving and had a piece last night, pretty late in the evening (which I know from plenty of experience is a bad idea).  I dosed generously for this lovely treat and went off to bed a while later comfortably unconcerned about my blood glucose levels overnight. Just to be on the safe side, I bumped up my basal rate a bit for a couple of hours to cover anything I might have missed.  So, being woken up at 2:30 with a BG of 222 was NOT something I was happy about.  But, I dosed for it and stumbled back to bed.  Jiminy chirped enough that I finally woke again at 4:30.  249. WHAT? No way.  Dosed again.  Realized that most of the dose was ending up on the sticky patch around my infusion site, NOT in my body.  Really, at 4:30 AM I’m gonna have to put in a new infusion site? grumble, grumble, fumble fumble, SNAP, infusion site in and I’m heading back to bed again.  6:30 rolls around.  I look at Jiminy, it says something like 179, but is coming back UP after having gone down to only  about 150.  So I’m still playing catch-up from all the insulin that didn’t get delivered overnight.  And it’s Sunday. Yeah, this is going to be a fun morning.

Things did get better, though I was a bit higher than I’d like after breakfast. But I came down pretty nicely, and even dropped a bit low by the end of the worship service.  Communion had the lovely effect of not only being a  meaningful spiritual time but also kicking my BG up a bit to get me through until lunch.  Hurray for grape juice! (Is that too irreverent? God can work in wonderful and unusual ways…..)

This is not the first time something like this has happened, that I eat something I know I shouldn’t and my BG goes really high due to some technological glitch.  I’m beginning to think Animas programmed that into the pump.  Maybe there’s some kind of sniff sensor, or I give off some kind of electrical charge when I’m getting ready to eat something diabetically inappropriate.  Yeah, I know, I sound like one of those weird conspiracy theorists who see a  plot behind every bush.  Whatever the reason, it does make me think twice about eating some things, and usually I decline, thinking that somehow my pump KNOWS and will make me pay………..

Leave a Reply

