Life in LADA land

Living Philippians 1:6 with type 1.5 diabetes

Weariness

on March 28, 2013

Tired.  I’ve been tired a lot lately.  I don’t know why really, except that life has been busy and some nights are interrupted frequently by a buzzing Dexcom. Buzzing lows, buzzing highs, whatever.  It’s annoying, really.  I know it’s for my good, but at 2 am I’m not really interested in what’s good for me. I’d really rather have an uninterrupted night of sleep.

Being tired is not something I have dealt with much.  At least not like this.  It makes it more likely that I will start feeling very sorry for myself.  I keep seeing on other blogs and websites how diabetes is a 24/7/365 job.  It’s true, and it helps to know I’m not alone in all of the attention this disease requires of me.  But it is also discouraging, because when I’m weary, the last thing I want to do is deal with the big D.

So what is the remedy?  As always, God managed to find a way to teach me what I needed to know.  I was working on a Bible study on 1 Samuel this afternoon.  David is trying to escape from the murderous Saul, and spends a lot of time and energy traveling around trying to keep one step ahead of him.  There are a number of Psalms that David wrote during this time.  His example of confidence in God expressed in these Psalms shook me up.  In Psalm 56, David simply pours his heart out to God. He tells Him how he feels, how distressed he is.  Then he recites what he knows to be true about God.  It seems like this revives David.  Then in Psalm 34, we see him rejoicing in God who has delivered Him and who is good.  David knew His God and He knew He could count on Him in all circumstances.  In good times and certainly in bad times.  Now I’m not running from someone who wants to kill me, but I often want to run away from diabetes.  Instead I need to run into the arms of the One who can give me the strength to deal with it.  I need to remember, as David did, who God is.  I need to fill my mind with thoughts of God rather than thoughts of self-pity.  It’s still Lent – today is Maundy Thursday, tomorrow is Good Friday and Easter is just around the corner. What better time to renew my commitment to replacing discouragement with hope and strength in God?

 

Leave a Reply

