Life in LADA land

Living Philippians 1:6 with type 1.5 diabetes

Surgery and other adventures

on April 3, 2013

What a week it has been. Easter was wonderful, but has been eclipsed somewhat by two rather major events in our home.  On the day before Easter, our son was involved in a car accident. He wasn’t hurt, but it turns out that our van is totalled.  It wasn’t his fault, but of course, the other insurance company is disputing the claim.  And just in case you need some history, this is our fourth Dodge/Chrysler minivan – 3 totalled (but only one was our fault), one stolen.  So I’m thinking we need to stay away from minivans……

Secondly I had surgery on my left arm on Tuesday morning.  The surgery itself was easy enough and I was home by 9:30 in the morning.  Turns out that the days after surgery are harder. Today the local anesthetic has worn off and my arm hurts quite a bit.  My blood sugars were on a bit of a gentle roller coaster over the weekend (stress from dealing with the accident? or anticipating surgery?) and yesterday were on the high side. I didn’t worry about it much since I figure the sedation and trauma would mess with it.  Today seems much more predictable.

I’m also dealing with not being able to swim or do the hydro-treadmill for a couple of weeks, which is probably also messing with my BG control.  It means working out a whole new basal pattern, which I’m tweaking as I get enough information.  I can’t remember the last time I went two weeks without exercise.  It’s weird.

So, all in all, it hasn’t been a week that I would like to repeat any time soon.  But God is faithful and I trust that He is teaching me some things while I’m going through this.  Patience is one of the lessons I still need to learn.  I’m not patient in waiting for my blood sugar to go down after dosing – I want the insulin to work NOW. Not an hour and a half from now, which is more likely.  I also need to let my body dictate to me for the next day or so at least. It is demanding rest and that I don’t use my left arm for more than typing or working a remote control.  I need to listen to it, which is not easy when there are plenty of tasks calling my name.  So I’ll pray for that patience and listen to those who are telling me to take it easy.  It’s great to have friends who care and a God who gives what I need when I need it.

Leave a Reply

