Life in LADA land

Living Philippians 1:6 with type 1.5 diabetes

Restraint

on April 14, 2013

I’ve been preparing to lead another Precept Bible study lesson for this next Wednesday. This time it’s on 1 Samuel chapters 24-26. You should read these chapters – there’s some great action here!  But an overriding theme in these chapters is that God restrained David’s hand from doing several things that would have been really bad in the long run, even when they seemed logical and warranted at the time. It occurs to me that diabetes is a disease of restraint, so these lessons rang my bell loudly and clearly.

I think the hardest times to practice restraint is when I’m low.  Especially when it’s low enough that I feel like a slug (around 55 or lower).  The overwhelming temptation is to eat EVERYTHING IN SIGHT.  That will make the lousy feelings go away faster, right?  My lips and tongue are tingling (I hate that), my head is ringing (I really hate that) and all I want to do is curl up and sleep (I REALLY hate that, especially in the middle of a busy day).  So, those cookies in the jar?  The cranberry juice in the frig?  The oranges on the table? Even those lovely (I hope you catch the sarcasm here) glucose tablets in the tube?  Yeah, let’s just eat all of them so the low will go away sooner.

Only that’s not what happens.  The low takes it’s own sweet (yeah, pun intended) time going away, and if I have succumbed to the above temptations, I rebound well up into the 200s, which produces another round of symptoms that are as unpleasant as the ones I just got rid of.  So, restraint is called for. Eat the 15 -20 grams of carbs to treat the low and wait. And wait. And wait. Tie yourself down so you don’t go racing back to the kitchen when you still feel awful 30 minutes later.  For me, it takes really a full hour (sometimes longer, depending on how “sticky” the low is) to come back to normal.  I’m not usually patient enough to wait an hour, but God is teaching me this lesson slowly but surely.

And you know what is really cool?  The patience I am learning in treating lows is transferring to other areas of my life.  The past month has been pretty wild in our home, with a totalled van, my gimpy left arm, tons of teaching and other work responsibilities all at once and now a new (used) van that we have to take to the repair shop tomorrow.  I have to say, I have had a much better attitude to all of that than I would have expected myself to have.  (Is that even possible?)

Another area of restraint that I am learning is the ever-present temptations to eat stuff that I know is not in my best interest.  In reality, there is nothing forbidden to me to eat – as long as there’s enough insulin in the pump, I can theoretically dose for whatever I eat.  But not everything is helpful or wise (a stretching of 1 Corinthians 10:23) for me, and not everything is bolus-worthy. So restraint is called for as I make choices of things like food and how to spend my time (on things like regular exercise rather than vegetating).

So the theme of the week (and of life) is restraint.  I love it when God takes stuff I’m learning from one place and applies it in another. It’s probably the only way I’ll learn the lessons…….

Leave a Reply

