New pump, new woman!

I thought I should follow up on my last couple of posts lest people get the idea that my life has just disappeared in the diabetes fog.  I have bounced back in true type 1 fashion.  Turns out the problem was my pump – and all I can figure is that it was not delivering my basal insulin (that’s the insulin delivered by the pump all day long, at about 3 minute intervals, to keep some insulin in the blood all the time, trying to mimic what the body would do. That’s the theory anyway….), so my blood sugar would just go up and up and up….  Called the Animas folks and got encouraging support and respectful questions (which I had already gone through with my insightful CDE), leading to the conclusion that yes, they would send out a new pump right away.  And that it would definitely be pink like the one I had.  You may think that’s silly, but I have to live intimately with this thing 24/7, so getting a friendly color is crucial to my emotional well-being.  I had the pump within 24 hours and within hours of getting it filled, primed, set-up and attached, I was on my way to feeling normal again.

In all of this I have realized how incredibly grateful I am for the support system of family, friends and my healthcare team.  So many people let me know they were praying for me. That was particularly touching, since most of the time I was dealing with the really high BGs, I really wasn’t paying much attention to praying for myself.  I know those prayers kept me from complete despair.  I can now admit that I was really scared by the long-term high BG.  I really was convinced (in my sugar-soaked brain) that I had developed some really extreme insulin resistance and would never get better, or that something else really awful was wrong.  That’s where reassuring words from my CDE and doc were so helpful and penetrated the fog of anxiety. So thank you to all of you who prayed, encouraged me on facebook and talked me down from my fear.  I am very, very grateful and humbled by your care and concern.

It’s good to feel good again.

2 thoughts on “New pump, new woman!

Leave a comment