Life in LADA land

Living Philippians 1:6 with type 1.5 diabetes

“Settling” for 6.5

on May 22, 2013

I saw my doc this week and it was, as usual, an enjoyable time.  My A1C was up .3, but we are all happy about that (me, my doc and my CDE).  Why would we be happy about A1C going UP?  Because to keep it lower (which it has been for the past 9 months or so) means I have too many episodes of low BG that have been really interfering with my life.  A1C is a measure of average blood sugar levels for a 3 month period.  The recommendation for diabetics is to keep it under 7%.  When I started with this whole escapade called LADA, my A1C was 11.7 (I think).  So I’m pretty happy with where I am now.

I’ve come to the radical conclusion that I really don’t need to put up with all of these low blood sugar episodes that come with trying to control my BG too strictly.  There is a way around them.  But it means setting aside my desire to control my BG too tightly. I have to let it go up and stay a bit higher than I want, settling for 130 or 150, instead of 110 or 100.  There’s not much room for error when you’re sitting at 100 – slight exertion, stress, and any kind of random event will put me in the danger zone all too quickly.  I was talking with my CDE a couple of weeks ago about this very thing, letting go of some of my rigid desire for control. She said that one of the doctors in the practice, a type 1 himself, came back from a conference saying that other docs with type 1 are content with a higher A1C than previously because it puts them at less risk of going low. I commented that that made sense for a doctor since they really wouldn’t want to go low and not be able to work at their full capacity at any time. She just looked at me as if I was nuts. I wasn’t sure exactly why at first, but then I realized that my life matters too, and that I shouldn’t be forced to settle for less than those doctors.

The good news about this relaxed control is that I have already found that I have more energy most of the time.  Lows take their toll longer than just while I’m low. I don’t think I realized that until now.  It’s good to feel good again, especially after the rocky weeks that I’ve had recently.

It’s hard to admit that I might have to let go a bit. I want to do this well.  And for me, doing something well means coloring in the lines, or playing by the rules.  Problem is, diabetes doesn’t play by any rules than anyone can predict, and sometimes, I just have to live with BG levels that go outside the lines.  It’s hard.  But then, what isn’t hard about living with LADA?

Leave a Reply

