Life in LADA land

Living Philippians 1:6 with type 1.5 diabetes

Recovering. Slowly.

on September 7, 2013

The knee feels great.  I can walk on it, bend it, straighten it, with little to no pain.  It gets stronger everyday.  Even the other knee feels better, and I have no idea why that should be the case, especially now that I’m not taking any pain medication.

But the nausea persists. Persistently persists.  It saps my energy and motivation.  It makes me just want to curl up into a ball and sleep.  That’s not me.  After 5 days at home, I’m ready (in my head, anyway) to get back out and moving.  Well, maybe after one more nap…..

So I will wait it out.  Turns out my blood sugar is doing a number on me too, sticking at levels higher than I would like. It’s very slightly possible that that could be contributing to my nausea.  So I’m working harder on bringing it down with a ridiculously high basal rate, rage boluses and quarts of water (which is providing plenty of exercise for my  knee, if you catch my meaning…..).

A friend who also recently had surgery that has immobilized her said that the hardest part is being patient with the healing process and not rushing to do things too soon. She’s definitely right.  I’m not good at waiting, so God is teaching me that lesson loudly and clearly (well, not so clearly yet). I have plenty to do here at home that I’ve been wanting to get to, but all of a sudden those things don’t seem so attractive.  Of course the overwhelming desire to sleep doesn’t help.

I have found that I have been drawn to read and savor Scripture, especially the Psalms, where my reading-through-the-Bible plan has me for the rest of September.  What encouragement I have found there.  It has lifted my eyes from myself to the God who created, redeemed, loves and cares for me.  For that I am very grateful.  I’ve also been reading in Romans, which has become a treasure trove for me in the past couple of years.  Rich truths that smack me in the face with their depth of grace and mercy.

So I guess this time has not been wasted after all.  Praise God from whom all blessings flow!

Leave a Reply

