Life in LADA land

Living Philippians 1:6 with type 1.5 diabetes

Distractions

on September 12, 2013

Distractions have plagued our family lately.  The first big one was when our daughter was momentarily distracted on the highway out west and slammed into a guardrail, totaling her car.  It’s amazing that a split second decision can have such huge ramifications, endangering her life (which miraculously and thankfully was spared without injury!) but messing up her life for over a month in clearing up the chaos that followed.  I too have had a car accident after a moment’s distraction.  It’s sobering.

Yesterday I was distracted while getting ready to eat lunch. I was at work, and in the going  back and forth from the kitchen to my office, calculating carbs, poking my finger and punching the numbers into my meter, I got distracted for a moment and forgot to press the GO button.  Bad.  Very bad.  So no bolus for lunch.  I went along my merry way, working and reading, feeling a bit wonky but chalking it up to general-recovery-from-knee-surgery wonkiness.  A couple of hours later, as I was getting ready to leave work, I poked my finger again and tested.  Meter said 403. WHAT?!?  Washed my hands vigorously.  Poked again. 402.  WHAT?!?  I had no memory of not bolusing for lunch, so my first thought was that my infusion site was bad.  Changed that out.  Then I thought to look at the history on my pump.  Yep, no record of a bolus at around noon.  So, a wasted infusion site (I HATE that) and now I just have to deal with bringing down the highest blood glucose I can ever remember having.  Drank water constantly.  Ketones, yep. (For all you non-diabetics out there: Ketones happen when your blood glucose is high and your body can’t fully process all the glucose floating around in the blood.  Whenever BG is as high as it was for me yesterday, you are supposed to test for them. I haven’t always done this in the past, but I’m becoming more compliant at it.  A persistent CDE has helped me with that.)   Dosed repeatedly (accounting for those ketones, Betty :).  Rage bolused a couple of times.  Finally, by bedtime (8 hours later) I was down to my target range, and of course, since it was bedtime, still falling.  But God was gracious, and after a very small carb snack before bed, I slept blessedly, peacefully and long.

So, the moral of the story? No idea.  Except that I need to deal with distractions better.  I’m finding it more and more difficult these days to concentrate on things for long periods of time.  Is this age? Or the digital age taking it’s toll? Whatever the cause, I feel the need to work on my ability to focus and concentrate on the task at hand. Driving, dosing, reading, studying, writing….whatever.  And in the meantime, I am thankful for God’s constant care that has no doubt spared me from consequences of other distractions I’m not even aware of.

Leave a Reply

