Life in LADA land

Living Philippians 1:6 with type 1.5 diabetes

Riding the roller coaster

on September 15, 2013

I really don’t like roller coasters.  I never have. I don’t know if it’s the slow, dreadful rise up the hill anticipating what’s over the precipice, or the abrupt, stomach-tumbling drop down into the abyss that terrifies me more.  Let’s just say, I’m not running to King’s Island every summer to ride the latest and greatest.

Turns out I’m not fond of diabetes roller coasters either. What’s a diabetes roller coaster?  It looks like this:

Not a great picture, but clear enough to give you the general idea....

Not a great picture, but clear enough to give you the general idea….

It feels about as awful as it looks. The worst part is that the biggest peak on the coaster ride wasn’t even my fault. As if that matters. An infusion site went bad so insulin was pooling up on my skin instead of getting into my body. I really hate that.  And I ignored the buzzing of my continuous glucose monitor too long, so it took a while to correct.  Of course after a couple of rage boluses, I went low right at bedtime, ate too much (I just wanted to go to bed and not worry about not waking up) and soared upwards yet again.  Needless to say, I was up a few times last night dealing with all of this.

So, I’m still not a fan of roller coasters.  Real or digital.

Leave a Reply

