Life in LADA land

Living Philippians 1:6 with type 1.5 diabetes

A diabetically good Sunday

on November 10, 2013

What a good day it has been. That doesn’t sound like much until you realize it’s Sunday and it’s not often I can say that in relation to my blood sugar. But today was lovely.  Steady, easily dealt with when it started heading south and just generally cooperative. I have no idea why.

It was also a great morning spiritually.  It started with Steve’s class on 1 Clement, which I had never read.  It’s a letter from Clement of Rome, writing to the church in Corinth about a problem with the younger men not submitting to the leadership of their elders.  The topic of leadership and submission is really close to my heart these days, since I struggle with knowing when to be authoritative and when to let others step in.  Just when I think I have it figured out, I get all confused again. And Clement also talked about servant leadership, which was truly the most humbling part.  I really do not think I have that part figured out at all.

Humble leadership.  Serving with the attitude that puts others first. That accepts responsibility without complaining, or blame-shifting, or criticizing, or feeling sorry for myself.  I have not been a good example of that lately.  There are things I have not handled with grace but instead have grumbled about them and whined about how hard it all is.  So 1 Clement spoke loudly to me, and I want to read it more carefully and thoughtfully. And honestly assess myself by it.

For I care what kind of leader I am.  I don’t want to be just ok at what I do. I want to be good at it, to lead well. Not for recognition or credit, but just so that I can serve with a clear conscience, knowing I have been faithful to God and the people I serve.  I want to keep on learning how to be better at what I do. For instance,  I have felt drawn to study the Scriptures more lately. I get really excited about opportunities to learn to do this better. I don’t know why God is drawing me to this, and I don’t really know what it will lead to. I love to teach from Scripture, and I would like to do more of it.  But at this point, I am finding myself functioning more as an administrator, and I am trying to turn that more into a position of discipling those who are doing the work in my ministry area.  Maybe that is where the teaching will happen, one on one, rather than in a group setting. Or maybe God has something completely different in mind.  In the meantime, I’ll listen to those nudgings and keep doing what I think God is leading me to do.

And lest you think that this stuff from church this morning and my musings about leadership has nothing to do with diabetes, it really does. When my blood sugar cooperates like it did this morning, it makes me able to drink in the teaching and the worship and to try to apply what I learned.  I am truly grateful for that and do not take it for granted anymore.

One response to “A diabetically good Sunday

  1. Christy says:

    Hmm. Sounds like I might need to read 1 Clement. 😉

Leave a Reply

