Life in LADA land

Living Philippians 1:6 with type 1.5 diabetes

I know I am low when…….

on November 14, 2013

In honor of World Diabetes Day (who  knew there was such a thing?) I am following the suggestion of a friend for a post triggered by something that happened at the start of the day today…..So here goes. I know I am low when……….

  • I enter the church where I work and forget to turn off the alarm system.  I was only reminded of this after a couple of minutes when it started beeping loudly, just before it alerted the police to an intruder. Of course I was at the other end of the hallway by that time and had to race to get to the alarm box in time.  My knee was not happy about this sudden exertion…..
  • I have no idea what you just said and make some really lame comment on it, trying to make it seem like I am in full control of my senses.
  • I want to put my head down on a table, or in my lap and stay there until the low passes.
  • I want to eat every carbohydrate based food within sight. Or out of sight.
  • I feel a compulsive drive to finish whatever task I am doing BEFORE treating the low.
  • My head feels like someone replaced my brain with air bubbles.
  • I have an almost irresistible urge to nap. This only happens with a more serious low (less than 55), which thanks to my  Dexcom continuous glucose monitor, doesn’t happen all that often, since it warns me when I’m heading south. If I can resist the urge to finish whatever I’m doing (see above) and eat something, I don’t feel like a complete zombie.

So, Happy World Diabetes Day everyone!  I can’t say it’s a day I really feel like celebrating, except to declare my commitment to not let this disease rule my life.

Leave a Reply

