Life in LADA land

Living Philippians 1:6 with type 1.5 diabetes

Surgery

on May 2, 2015

This coming Tuesday, I will be having a knee replacement.  Full on, hospital-stay-requiring surgery.  It has been quite an education in managing diabetes, and has really made me appreciate the support I have personally, spiritually and diabetically.

My blood glucose (BG from here on out) has been wacky for months.  Swimming has been particularly problematic, since my BG has been going way up after a half hour in the pool, rather than down.  I assume this is due to the stress that it is on my knee, despite my trying not to use that knee as I push off for each new lap.  I actually just stopped swimming a week or so ago because the emotional toll of dealing with that was just more than I could handle right now.

I have had to stop all the various meds that could contribute to blood thinning a week prior to surgery.  That means no Aleve, which I did not realize had been keeping a lot of pain at bay for the past few months. Each day is more painful than the last, and I am so ready for this to be done with.  I have 3 days to go and am finding myself being very efficient in all that I do in order to use the fewest steps possible.  Ouch.  Because of this, I have been running my basal insulin rates (the insulin that is delivered continuously via my pump 24/7) 30% higher than normal this week just to deal with the increased BG associated with pain.  I wonder what that will look like next week post-op and during and after PT………

And then there are all the hospital details.  I have been well  prepared for this procedure, I must say. My surgeon provides a JET class (joint education and testing) and a shared medical appointment the week before surgery to give us all the information we need to be ready to make a completely successful recovery.  I am so impressed. However, it has also shown me how many people are involved in my care, and how complicated that seems to make managing my diabetes.  I still don’t really know how I am going to deal with refilling my pump in hospital, or how much scrutiny I will get in how I dose or test, or whether my CGM will freak anyone out.  I have to admit that this is causing me some anxiety, which on top of the anxiety of what they are going to do to my knee, is starting to add up.

It’s a brutal surgery.  I won’t elaborate beyond that. I am not at all squeamish – just ask me what I used to do to mice and rats when I was doing research.  But this procedure has me pretty rattled.  I am trying hard to focus on the outcome – being able to walk long distances without pain, hiking again with my husband and kids, bicycling, using the exercise equipment at my fitness center without worrying about whether or not I will be able to walk the next day- all these are things I look forward to.  Heck, just being able to do a shopping trip through Sam’s without having to cling on to the cart by the end will be great!

So many people are praying for me.  And offering their support after surgery.  And bringing meals (I peeked at the website where this is handled and already there are people thinking about what they will cook for us.).  I am so humbled by this, and do not take it for granted.  Several of the people in the surgery prep classes I attended this week had no one to care for them after surgery.  I feel very blessed.

I guess this is just another adventure in life with T1D. I am trying to look at it that way, rather than as a trauma.  I’ll let you know how well that works.

Leave a Reply

