Life in LADA land

Living Philippians 1:6 with type 1.5 diabetes

Week One

on March 18, 2016

I am a week into this pump vacation. So far, so good.  I am finding that overall my blood glucose levels are less erratic. I’m not wild about injections, and I now remember why I found the transition to a pump so joyful!  But there are some benefits to this regimen and I am happy about what I am learning.  About diabetes and about myself.

So one thing I have noticed is that it is clearer to me what and how things affect my blood sugar.  For the past few months, it has not always been clear to me if highs were due to something I have done, something in my environment or something wrong with my pump or infusion site. Now when my blood sugar is out of range, I can usually figure out what happened.  I find that things I don’t think are stressful are perceived by my body as stressful and my blood sugar goes up.  Sometimes dramatically.  I can see much more clearly how physical activity affects me – and how fast my blood sugar goes down. Sometimes it will rebound on its own, sometimes not.  I know better how long it takes insulin to get to work after I inject, and so I can try to time my doses before meals so that the spikes after the meal are not as big (this is an art, not a science though, and my best laid plans often go awry…..).

At the same time, I have been working on not being so dependent on knowing exactly where my blood sugar is at all times. I have consciously been NOT looking at my CGM unless something feels wrong.  This is hard. It was a challenge given to me by two people that I trust and respect dearly, and I took the challenge seriously.  I have been obsessing on data. Yep, I said it out loud.  I have been much too occupied with trying to control my blood sugar so tightly.  Being off the pump is a good opportunity to do this, because I am less tied to technology.  And, because the pump can dose much smaller amounts of insulin than I can do by injection, I would literally micromanage my blood sugars.  I can’t do that now. I can only dose in full units of insulin, and since 1 unit drops my blood sugar 50 points or so, I can’t afford to do that unless I am far above my target BG.  I have less control. And that is a good thing for now. I am learning to relax a bit about this. Really.

My plan is to stay off of my pump for another 3-4 weeks at least.  It is inconvenient, and sometimes it hurts to inject.  But it is what I needed.  I love the technology we have to manage this disease and I am really looking forward to the changes that are coming in the years ahead.  But I need to learn to use it wisely and not let it rule my life.  I think I am beginning to put things back in the rightful places in my life. Kerri Sparling says ‘Diabetes doesn’t define me, but it helps explain me’.  I want that to be true of me as well. I think it was beginning to define me. That is NOT where I want to be. I’m getting back to letting diabetes just be one part of who I am, and not a controlling part of me.  I am very thankful for that.

3 responses to “Week One

  1. Angi says:

    I just listened to an online presentation & one of the comments at the end was from someone who had been a Type 1 for 59 years. It was regarding monitors, & it really hit me: “With the monitor, 1440 minutes/day you’re being told you’re a diabetic.”

  2. Colleen says:

    Sounds like you’re doing great! I don’t know that I’m ready to try the same…

    • Colleen says:

      If you had asked me to do this a couple of months ago I would have said NO. But I got to the point where it really was clear to me that I needed a technology break. It has been eye-opening and liberating and frustrating all at the same time. Which of course is how T1D is ALL the time!

Leave a Reply

